Danny Briggs has been included in England's limited-overs squads to face India.

The Hampshire star has been named alongside Kevin Pietersen in the 15-man squad to play five ODIs against India in January.

But Pietersen has been left out of the 13-man party that plays two Twenty20 internationals after the last two Tests, on December 20 and 22.

Briggs has not played an ODI since taking 2-39 on his full interantional debut against Pakistan in Dubai in February.

Since then he has played two Twenty20 internationals, most recently England's penultimate World Twenty20 match in September.

Pietersen infamously called time on his international limited-overs career six months ago at the age of 32, a move which kickstarted his summer of discontent and contract wrangles with the England and Wales Cricket Board.

However, after missing England's failed defence of their ICC World Twenty20 crown and having played no 50 or 20-over cricket for his adopted country since the tour of the United Arab Emirates against Pakistan last winter, his name was included in the squad for five ODIs against India in the new year.

Pietersen will not play England's two T20 internationals against India before Christmas, but Briggs has also been named in that 13-man squad alongside fellow spinners Samit Patel and James Tredwell.

Pietersen had to undergo a period of 'reintegration' in order to secure his return to Test cricket, after a breakdown of relations with some senior players and management.

But the mercurial batsman is back in the ODI fold, especially after his man-of-the-match 186 in England's series-levelling Test victory over India in Mumbai two days ago.

Elsewhere in the 13-man Twenty20 squad, and 15 for the ODIs, there is a place in the former for Surrey fast bowler Stuart Meaker - as yet uncapped in the shortest format - while Tredwell is in both, as a like-for-like replacement for Graeme Swann.

The latter, England's first-choice off-spinner in all formats, has a chronic elbow injury in his bowling arm on which he admits he fears he may have to have surgery again at some point.

Swann has already bowled many overs in England's ongoing Test tour of India, where spinners are very busy in sub-continental conditions. Stuart Broad will lead England's Twenty20 squad, in which Meaker and Tredwell are the only players to graduate from outside those who fell short in September's global tournament in Sri Lanka.

Joining Tredwell and Briggs in Alastair Cook's ODI squad are three others who were absent the last time England played a 50-over series in India - 13 months ago.

They are batsman Eoin Morgan and pace bowlers Broad and James Anderson.

Morgan and Broad were not involved last time, because they were recovering from shoulder injuries.

National selector Geoff Miller did not specifically name Swann or Pietersen, but explained the reasoning behind providing rest time for players involved in all formats.

"We are constantly looking to manage the workload of players as effectively as possible - and this winter is no different - so there are number of players who are being rested for parts of the winter programme.

"This will enable them to take part in fitness and conditioning programmes in preparation for a busy 2013."

Miller acknowledges the challenge of limited-overs cricket in Asia, where England lost 5-0 to India last year.

"We know that playing limited-overs cricket in India can be challenging." he said.

"But the Twenty20 and ODI series provide an excellent opportunity for these players to show that they have learnt valuable lessons from the last ODI series against India and improved as players in sub-continent conditions.

"We have selected squads containing experienced international players, alongside younger players who have impressed playing for England Lions and the England Performance Programme recently and who deserve an opportunity to establish themselves in the England side."

To help spread the workload Miller mentions, Anderson and Broad will share it in the ODI series.

Anderson will be available for the warm-up fixtures and first three matches only, and will be replaced by Broad for the remainder.

England T20 squad: Stuart Broad (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, James Tredwell, Luke Wright.

England ODI squad: Alastair Cook (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Craig Kieswetter, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, James Anderson/ Stuart Broad.