WARREN Social Club ends a trophy-rich year on the cribbage tables with three pairs in the last 16 of the Mew Langton Cup.

Tom Hollins and Dave Rogerson, Justin Rogerson and Gary Hunt, and Ron Davidson and Brian Stubbs all safely negotiated the second round held at Shirley Conservative Club.

Team captain Justin Rogerson, who claimed the title with Mark Hunt in 1997, said: “The pairs is open this year with people you expect to see in the last-16 all knocked out.

“It would be good if one of our pairs can get to a final as I’m the only one left in from the Warren to have won it before.”

The club’s other pair of Mark Hunt and Tony Challis, the 2010 champions, lost in the second round. Earlier this year, Warren were crowned Division 1 champions in the Southampton & District Social Clubs League and finished runners-up in the Simonds Cup.

Last month, they beat Leigh Park WMC over two legs to clinch the Wessex CIU cribbage team singles title for the first time. Justin Rogerson won the one match required in the home leg after a 5-0 whitewash in Havant.

Social Clubs spotlight in today's Daily Echo