Billy Morgan's place in Team GB's Winter Olympics squad has been confirmed.

The 24 year-old from Shirley is one of seven Team GB snowboarders going to Sochi, four of whom will be competing in Slopestyle, an event for freestylers that makes its Winter Olympics debut next month.

Morgan will be competing without an anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee, following a freak injury suffered in September. He will be wearing a brace to compensate.

Team GB will be represented by a total of 56 athletes, four more than the team selected for Vancouver in 2010.

The opening ceremony takes place on February 7 and the Games run until February 23, with Slopestyle beginning on the first day of competition.

But before then Morgan also has his first appearance at the prestigious Winter X Games to look forward to, in Colorado this weekend.

Meanwhile, The British Olympic Association has confirmed it is one of a number of national federations to have received an email containing terrorist threats ahead of the Winter Olympics.

But the BOA's director of communications Darryl Seibel said the threat "lacks credibility", and that it will not alter the rigid security arrangements already in place to protect the Great Britain team.


SNOWBOARD (7): Zoe Gillings (snowboard-cross), Billy Morgan (slopestyle), Jamie Nicholls (slopestyle), Jenny Jones (slopestyle), Aimee Fuller (slopestyle), Dom Harrington (halfpipe), Ben Kilner (halfpipe).

CURLING (10): Women's team: Eve Muirhead (skip), Claire Hamilton, Vicki Adams, Anna Sloan, Lauren Gray. Men's team: David Murdoch (skip), Tom Brewster, Greg Drummond, Scott Andrews, Michael Goodfellow.

FIGURE SKATING (6): Jenna McCorkell (ladies), Nick Buckland (ice dance), Penny Coomes (ice dance), David King (pairs), Stacey Kemp (pairs), Matthew Parr (team men's representative).

SHORT TRACK (5): Elise Christie (500m, 1000m, 1500m), Jon Eley (500m, 1000m), Charlotte Gilmartin (500m, 1000m, 1500m), Richard Shoebridge (1000m), Jack Whelbourne (500m, 1000m, 1500m) BIATHLON (2): Lee Jackson, Amanda Lightfoot.

BOBSLEIGH (10): John Jackson (GBR1 four-man), Stuart Benson (GBR1 four-man), Bruce Tasker (GBR1 four-man), Joel Fearon (GBR1 four-man), Lamin Deen (GBR2 four-man), Craig Pickering (GBR2 four-man), John Baines (GBR2 four-man), Ben Simons (GBR2 four-man), Paula Walker (GBR1 two-woman), Bex Wilson (GBR1 two-woman).

FREESTYLE (6): James Woods (ski slopestyle), Katie Summerhayes (ski slopestyle), Rowan Cheshire (ski halfpipe), Emma Lonsdale (ski halfpipe), James Machon (ski halfpipe), Murray Buchan (ski halfpipe).

CROSS COUNTRY (4): Andrew Musgrave, Andrew Young, Callum Smith, Posy Musgrave.

SKELETON (4): Lizzy Yarnold, Shelley Rudman, Kristan Bromley, Dominic Parsons.

ALPINE (2): Chemmy Alcott, Dave Ryding.