AMATEUR boxer Chris Moulsdale landed the knockout punch as Woolston Trades & Labour Club B clinched their first Summer Bonanza snooker trophy for 19 years.

Squad member Neil Wittig, who skippered the 1995 side, described the 3-1 win over Ashlett Club C in the final at Chandler’s Ford Snooker Club as “marvellous”.

With Woolston 2-0 up, present captain Moulsdale compiled a 35 break against Derek Webb but never took victory for granted.

“(Derek’s) a very good player,” said the 28-year-old. “I saw him play Luke Beebe – another great, promising youngster – last week (in the semi-finals) on the other table and he knocked in two or three breaks of 20 odd.

“So at 20 points behind with the colours approaching, it’s not that much.”

But Webb was left chasing snookers in vain on the colours.

Earlier, Marc ‘The Muscle’ Russell accounted for Steve Tonks on the brown and Paul Naismith, the only other original player from the 1995 team, defeated Dave Matthews on the yellow.

Paying tribute to his teammates, Moulsdale said: “Marc was excellent. He’s always solid. He’s got a very good cue action.

“Paul’s got an awful cue action – but it works for him.”

And he added: “I just seemed to zone in. I did enjoy it. It was my first ever snooker final.”

Wittig, 45, said: “They all played really well tonight. They’re a decent outfit.”

Naismith described the result as “brilliant”, adding: “It was good to win it.”

Woolston T&L B (Neil Wittig, Paul Naismith, Steve Wittig, Nick Alford and John Strugnell) beat a Shirley Social Club team, featuring the Glasspools, at the 147 Club in the 1995 Bonanza final.

Reformed in 2010, they won four successive promotions to the Premier Division of the Southampton & District Social Clubs League.

The 35th Bonanza champions nominated Teenage Cancer Trust to receive the £256 entry fees.

Moulsdale added: “We’ve enjoyed ourselves, we’ve won a trophy and it all goes to a good cause.”

Frame scores (h/caps), Woolston first: Marc Russell (10) 72-41 Steve Tonks (16), Paul Naismith (0) 87-51 Dave Matthews (24), Chris Moulsdale (16) 72-27 Derek Webb (12), Dave Wittig (26) 22-70 Jody Miles (24).