HAMPSHIRE continue their build-up towards the opening S-Trend Liberty Trophy fixture against Essex with a shakedown match away to Surrey on Sunday.

Manager Derek Collins ran the rule over his squad in a five-rink internal trial at Victory and, though devoid of several regulars, he was pleased with the overall level of early-season form, particularly from Adam White and Adam Clark, writes DAVID BRIERS.

White, who broke into the team last winter, is enjoying an excellent year both indoors and out. In the last indoor season he skipped the Chawton Park rink that reached the national finals of the fours and he was also a skip in the club’s triumphant Bramley Bowl side, the first time the Alton men had captured the trophy.

Outdoors he carried off the Hampshire two-woods crown for Alton Social, beating Peter Ward in the final.

Last weekend White impressed at number two in the rink of Paul May which was completed by May’s Banister Park colleagues Stuart Rowney (lead) and Mark Hammond.

Even though May lost to the all-Victory quartet of Dave Watts, Trevor Bailey, Charlie Bailey and Gary Starks, Collins was happy with the displays of both rinks while Clark – based on the Isle of Wight but with Victory for the indoor campaign – caught the eye at lead for Russell Morgan.

May, however, misses the Surrey encounter at Camberley on Sunday morning. He is unavailable as are East Dorset’s Chris Martin and Barry Stafford (Victory). After that Collins will choose his rinks for the Essex test at Barking on Saturday, November 10. The winners play either Middlesex or Berkshire on November 24.

Hampshire will be eager to improve on last winter when they bowed out at the first hurdle by six shots to Berkshire.

Rinks against Surrey: Adam Clark (Victory), Michael Squires, Alan Geary, Russell Morgan (all East Dorset); Cliff Higgins (Banister Park), Duncan Rogers (Loddon Vale), John Biggs (Victory), Graham Standley (Banister Park); John Leggett, Barry Starks, Colin Thresher, Richard Shelley (all Victory); Stuart Rowney, Andy Anderson, Denny Graydon, Mark Hammond (all Banister Park); Leigh Allen (Atherley), Alex Marchant (Victory), Adam White (Chawton Park), Steve Rice (Banister Park).

Reserves: David Sims, John Blair (both Chawton Park).