A HAMPSHIRE depot has scooped a top accolade at the UK Bus Awards.

Bluestar’s depot in Eastleigh was named Top National Bus Depot.

The judges were impressed with high levels of employee engagement at the depot and its work with the community including efforts good causes like RNIB, Rainbow Project and Southampton Hospital Charity.

“We’re thrilled to receive this prestigious award - it’s thoroughly deserved by our excellent team in Eastleigh,” said Bluestar managing director, Andrew Wickham.

“This is wonderful recognition for the talents of all my colleagues here - from our skilful engineers, to the managers who ensure everything runs smoothly.”

The Eastleigh win was part of a hat-trick of awards for Bluestar’s parent company, Go South Coast which was also named UK Bus Operator of the Year and Top Shire Operator.

Go South Coast run morebus in Bournemouth and Poole, Reds in Salisbury and Wiltshire, Bluestar in Southampton and South Hampshire, Southern Vectis on the Isle of Wight, Thamesdown in Swindon and Damory in Dorset and Hampshire.

Mark Yexley, Chairman of the UK Bus Awards, said: “To win UK Bus Operator of the Year is an outstanding achievement, and to get a hat-trick is simply exceptional.

“The company’s commitment overwhelmed the judges, they’ve seen consistent passenger growth across all their brands over the past five years. We would like to congratulate Go South Coast, on their success. Well done from everyone at the UK Bus Awards”.

One of Bluestar’s customer advisors also received a commendation for his work, in the Unsung Hero award.

Jeff Stubbs has been at the firm’s shop in Bargate Street since it opened in 2014. Before that, he was based in our nearby travel kiosk and known as ‘Jeff in the Box’.

“His friendly and approachable nature sets him apart - and his knowledge about Bluestar timetables, routes and tickets is second to none. Congratulations to Jeff. He thoroughly deserves this praise.”

The UK Bus Awards scheme was founded in 1996. It was designed to develop further the Bus Good Practice Awards – which were set up by the Association of Metropolitan Authorities in 1991.