This year's local elections are fast approaching and residents in Southampton are being encouraged to come out and cast their vote.

A total of 146 councils in England, 22 in Wales and 32 in Scotland will be holding local elections on May 5, along with the Northern Ireland Assembly.

At Southampton City Council, one third of seats is up for grabs across all 16 wards.

Each councillor voted in will be appointed for a four-year term.

Below is a list of candidates standing for election, broken down by ward, alongside councillors elected in previous years.

Read more - Main article continues below:


  • Sarah Bogle - Labour
  • Joe Cox - Green
  • Graham Henry - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Charles Perez-Storey - Conservatives
  • Josh Smith - Liberal Democrats

Already elected: John Noon (Labour) and Darren Paffey (Labour and Co-operative Party)


  • Richard Blackman - Liberal Democrats
  • Christian Cox - Labour
  • Mike Marx - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Neil Sahota - Conservatives

Already elected: Les Harris (Conservative) and Beryl Harris (Conservative)


  • Nick Chaffey - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Amy Greenwood - Liberal Democrats
  • Toqeer Kataria - Labour
  • Ronald Meldrum - Green
  • Pritheepal Roath - Conservatives

Already elected: Mike Dennes (Labour) and Jacqui Rayment (Labour)


  • Clara Asher - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Andy Frampton - Labour
  • Michael Mawle - Green
  • Nick McGeorge - Liberal Democrats
  • Terry Streets - Conservatives

Already elected: Matthew Magee (Conservative) and Elliot Prior (Conservative)

Bitterne Park

  • Tony Bunday - Labour
  • Vanessa Fileman - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Rob Harwood - Conservatives
  • Helen Makrakis - Green

Already elected: David Fuller (Conservative) and Ian White (Conservative)


  • Sam Chapman - Liberal Democrats
  • Maggie Fricker - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Lucy Mundell - Green
  • Paul Nolan - Conservatives
  • Matthew Renyard - Labour

Already elected: Diana Galton (Conservative) and Barrie Margetts (Labour)


  • Andy Beal - Liberal Democrats
  • Lindsi Bluemel - Green
  • Catherine Clarke - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Michaela Dowse - Conservatives
  • Steve Leggett - Labour

Already elected: Dave Shields (Labour) and Vivienne Windle (Labour)


  • Chris Bluemel - Green
  • Ben Curd - Liberal Democrats
  • Paul Kenny - Labour
  • Val Laurent - Conservatives
  • Levi Wallman - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Already elected: Peter Baillie (Conservative) and Daniel Fitzhenry (Conservative)


  • Jonathan Bean - Green
  • Donna Dee - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • David Furnell - Labour
  • Steven Galton - Conservatives

Already elected: Graham Galton (Conservative) and Jeremy Moulton (Conservative)


  • Tom Bell - Conservatives
  • Bevis Fenner - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Eamonn Keogh - Labour
  • Robert Naish - Liberal Democrats
  • Rosanna Newey - Green

Already elected: Alex Houghton (Conservative) and Joshua Payne (Conservative)


  • Katherine Barbour - Green
  • Vikkie Cheng - Conservatives
  • Lisa Mitchell - Labour
  • Tony Twine - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Already elected: John Savage (Labour) and Gordon Cooper (Labour)


  • Angela Cotton - Green
  • Cathie McEwing - Labour 
  • David Smith - Conservatives 
  • Simon Stokes - Liberal Democrats 
  • Pete Wyatt - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Already elected: Amanda Guest (Conservative) and Sally Spicer (Labour)


  • Hannah Coombs - Labour
  • Andrew Hetherton - Conservatives 
  • Andrew Howe - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Simon Howell - Conservatives
  • Colin McDougall - Liberal Democrats
  • Alexander Winning - Labour
  • Sarah Wood - Liberal Democrats

Already elected: Satvir Kaur (Labour)


  • Declan Clune - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Carol Cunio - Labour
  • Charlie Cutt - Green
  • Marley Guthrie - Conservatives
  • Sharon Hopkins - Liberal Democrats

Already elected: James Baillie (Conservatives) and Sarah Vaughan (Conservatives)


  • Lorna Fielker - Labour
  • Thomas Gravatt - Liberal Democrats
  • Neil Kelly - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Calvin Smith - Conservatives

Already elected: Matthew Bunday (Labour) and Spiros Vassiliou (Conservative)


  • Sue Atkins - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
  • Jaden Beaurain - Conservatives
  • Sue Blatchford - Labour
  • Colin Bleach - Liberal Democrats
  • Clive Hillman - Green

Already elected: Robert Stead (Conservatives) and Christopher Hammond (Labour)

A message from the Editor

Thank you for reading this article - we appreciate your support in reading the Daily Echo.

Subscribing to the Echo means you have unrestricted access to the latest news, features and Saints coverage - all with an advertising-light website.

You will also have full access to Saintsplus, your new home for Southampton FC tactical analysis, features and much, much more.

Don't take my word for it - subscribe here to see for yourself.

Follow the latest breaking news in the Southampton area by joining our Facebook group - Southampton News - Breaking News and Incidents

Follow the latest court and crime news on our dedicated Facebook group - Hampshire Court and Crime News