EDUCATION bosses on the Isle of Wight have today unveiled their plans to shut 22 Isle of Wight schools as part of a major shake-up.

It comes after the Island's council voted in March to adopt a two-tier structure featuring six secondary schools and 37 primary schools.

Of the 37 primary schools, 22 will remain on their current sites, 14 will use either existing primary and middle school sites, and a brand new primary will be built on the existing Downside Middle School site in Newport.

All of the Island's middle schools would effectively close. However all the sites apart from Forelands and Nodehill would be used under the proposals.

Click here to read the Committee Report in full

Formal consultation on the latest proposals is due to begin in the next few weeks and last for a four month period.

Director of Children's Services Steve Beynon said "We hope this latest report will show parents, governors, the teaching profession and the wider community that we are listening."

The list of schools closing are
St Helen's Primary
Forelands Middle
Lake Middle
Sandham Middle
Sandown High School
Bishop Lovett C of E Middle
Mayfield C of E Middle
Swanmore Middle
Ryde High
Downside Middle
Kitbridge Middle
Nodehill Middle
ABK Catholic Middle
Trinity Middle
Carisbrooke High
Medina High
Weston Primary
West Wight Middle
Solent Middle
Somerton Middle
Cowes High
Osborne Middle