Labour has made gains in the general election in Southampton as Satvir Kaur and Darren Paffey were elected to parliament. 

Ms Kaur was elected in Southampton Test - the seat of outgoing longstanding Labour MP, Alan Whitehead. 

While Southampton Itchen went from blue to red as Mr Paffey won in Royston Smith's former seat.

The former council leader and deputy leader were announced as the city's newest MPs by Lord Mayor Dave Shields just after 5am.

READ MORE: General election 2024: Live election results from Southampton

Darren Paffey received 15,782 votes in Itchen, while Conservative candidate Sidney Yankson got 9,677 votes. 

Reform's Alex Culley was third with 6,853 votes, while Green Party's Neil Kelly won 2,793, narrowly beating James Batho (Liberal Democrats, 2,684) into fifth place.

Declan Clune of the Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition won 264 votes.

In Test, Satvir Kaur won 15,945 votes, with Ben Burcombe-Filer (Conservative) winning 6,612 votes.

John Edwards of Reform won 5,261 votes, beating Katherine Barbour (Green, 3,594 votes) and Thomas Gravatt (Liberal Democrats, 3,252).

Wajahat Shaukat (Workers Party) received 775, and Maggie Fricker (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition) received 366 votes.