The Conservatives have lost seats around Hampshire as the country wakes up to a new government.

The Tories lost Southampton Itchen to former deputy leader of the city council, Darren Paffey, and Eastleigh to the Liberal Democrat’s Liz Jarvis.

The Conservatives have also lost the seats of Basingstoke, Portsmouth North and Aldershot, to Labour, and North East Hampshire and Winchester, to the Liberal Democrats.

LIVE UPDATES: Results as they come in as Conservatives lose ground in Hampshire

Outgoing Prime Minister Rishi Sunak called the election result a “sobering verdict” after major Tory MPs such as Penny Mordaunt and Jacob Rees-Mogg lost their seats.

Cabinet ministers Grant Shapps, Alex Chalk and Michelle Donelan also were voted out.

Mr Sunak congratulated Keir Starmer on winning the election.

In a victory rally in London, Sir Keir said the UK was again experiencing the “sunlight of hope” after a Labour landslide put him on course to be the next prime minister.

He said: “It feels good, I have to be honest. Four-and-a-half years of work changing the party, this is what it is for – a changed Labour Party ready to serve our country, ready to restore Britain to the service of working people.

“And across our country, people will be waking up to the news, relief that a weight has been lifted, a burden finally removed from the shoulders of this great nation.

“And now we can look forward, walk into the morning, the sunlight of hope, pale at first but getting stronger through the day, shining once again, on a country with the opportunity after 14 years to get its future back.”

State of the parties at 6.15am - 55 seats to declare

LAB 392, CON 102, LDM 63, SNP 7, SF 7, IND 5, RFM 4, PC 4, DUP 4, GRN 3, SDLP 2, ALL 1, UUP 1.

These are the election results in the Southampton area:

Southampton Test: Labour hold, Satvir Kaur

Southampton Itchen: Labour gain from Conservative, Darren Paffey

Romsey and Southampton North: Conservative hold, Caroline Nokes

Eastleigh: Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative, Liz Jarvis

Fareham & Waterlooville: Conservative hold, Suella Braverman

Hamble Valley (new constituency): Conservative win, Paul Holmes

New Forest West: Conservative hold, Desmond Swayne

New Forest East: Conservative hold, Julian Lewis

Wider Hampshire results

Aldershot: LAB gain from CON

Basingstoke: LAB gain from CON

East Hampshire: CON hold

Gosport: CON hold

Havant: CON hold

North East Hampshire: LDM gain from CON

North West Hampshire: CON hold

Portsmouth North: LAB gain from CON

Portsmouth South: LAB hold

Winchester: LDM gain from CON