We had dozens of entries to our first ever Daily Echo Education Awards and our panel of judges spent hours whittling them down to just 27 finalists

Councillors Peter Edgar and Darren Paffey - Hampshire County Council and Southampton City Council education chiefs respectively - worked with the Daily Echo’s promotions team to choose who would be invited to the celebrations at Grand Harbour Hotel.

The finalists came from schools, colleges and universities from across the city and were:

Newcomer of the year

Kirsty MacGregor – Richard Taunton Sixth Form College: For contributions to dance and her students

Steve James – Kanes Hill Primary School: For enthusiasm and passion for teaching

Kimberley Brennan – Crestwood College: For being a great ambassador for young people

Supporting staff member of the year

Lisa Marsh – Barton Peveril College: For going above and beyond what is expected of her

Diane Burtenshaw – Peel Common Nursery and Infant School: For regularly going out of her way to offer support

Paula Whiteley – Cantell School: For an exceptional career to date

Leadership award

Phil Humphreys – Oasis Academy Mayfield: For his outstanding leadership, positive attitude and robust approach

Krista Dawkins – Crestwood College: For her pioneering approach to education

Matt Perrett – Netley Marsh CofE Infant School: For nurturing a positive, vibrant and welcoming school

Innovation award

Rhiannon Jones – Cantell School: For improving the progress and wellbeing of girls

Lifelab – University Hospital Southampton: For their interactive and highly engaging format

Early Childhood and Health Team – Brockenhurst College: For their vocational expertise, dedication, resilience and flexibility

Nursery or primary teacher of the year

Lewis Tribbeck – Thornhill Primary School: For his superb subject knowledge

Mr O’Brien – John Keble Primary School: For inspiring and motivating children

Nicole Ash – Bevois Town Primary School: For her effective and meticulous style of teaching

Middle / Secondary teacher of the year

Rhys Fehners – Cantell School: For being dynamic, inspirational and devoted

Peter Bartlett – Toynbee Secondary School: For seeing the potential in students who are struggling to achieve

Becky Wesson – The Hamble School: For her engaging, entertaining and challenging lessons

College/Sixth Form Teacher of the Year

Lucy Singleton – St Anne’s Catholic School: For her selfless attitude and always putting needs of the pupils first

Jack Brown – Barton Peveril College: For his incredible contribution to the maths department

Dave Durow – Richard Taunton Sixth Form College: For his passion for teaching

Lifetime Achievement Award

Jane Higgins – Richard Taunton Sixth Form College: For 22 years of 100 per cent pass rate for A Level music

Yolanda Bull – Cantell School: For achieving highest results in the school year on year

Jane Owen – Peter Symonds College: For her open-mindedness, compassion and empathy

School or College of the Year

Rosewood Free School: For the truly inspirational team and unique approach to learners with complex needs

Hordle CE (VA) Primary School: For the team’s hard work, determination and enthusiasm for the community and families

Peter Symonds College: For creating an environment where students can learn in the most effective and least stressful setting

Thank you to our sponsors, IT service providers Silver Lining