Saint legend Matthew Le Tissier will be inducted into the National Football Museum Hall of Fame tonight.

He is among ten players that will receive what is regarded as one of the highest honours in football. He joins other famous football faces like Sir Alex Ferguson, ex-Saints boss Alan Ball, Gordon Banks, Cliff Bastin, Jimmy Greaves and Sir Tom Finney on the honour roll.

Along with Le Tiss, Peter Schmeichel - the legendary Manchester United goalkeeper, Cliff Jones – member of the Tottenham double-winning side of 1961 - and Mike Summerbee – one of the ‘Holy Trinity’ in the great 1968-70 Manchester City team -, will all have their names etched in football history tonight.

They’ll be joined by former Chelsea and Manchester United midfielder Ray Wilkins, Leeds United legend Eddie Gray, Sheila Parker - the first women’s England captain back in 1972 - and Jack Taylor, the Englishman who refereed the 1974 World Cup Final.

Taylor is the first referee to take a place in the Hall of Fame.

An award will also be made to the late Raich Carter, who captained Sunderland to League and FA Cup wins in the 1930’s.

David Clarke, England’s record goal scorer in blind football, completes the line up.

To qualify for the hall, they must have finished their playing career or be aged over 30 and have played or managed in England for at least five.

“We are delighted to be able to recognise the achievements of these legendary players in this way,” said National Football Museum Director Kevin Moore.

“It’s a rare chance to be close to some of the biggest players in football history. We’re extremely grateful to the PFA for their continued support of the event.”