SHOLING’S promotion as champions means the Sydenhams Premier Division will run a team short next term.

With no club dropping down from a higher league, the provisional constitution for 2014/15 sees the Wessex top flight running with 21 clubs.

Thatcham Town, former members of the Wessex League, have voluntarily dropped out of the Southern League Division One South & West for financial reasons but have been placed in the Hellenic League for the upcoming campaign.

Fleet Town, who were also a Wessex club, finished second to bottom of the South & West but were spared relegation due to Thatcham’s withdrawal.

With the Sydenhams League keen to keep 16 teams in Division One, they have stuck with a two up, two down system.

Subject to ratification at tonight’s (June 27) AGM, champions Petersfield Town and runners-up Andover Town are both promoted to the Premier Division, swapping places with relegated duo Downton and Romsey Town.

The AGM will be held at Totton & Eling Sports Club, kicking off at 7.30pm.

Sydenhams Wessex League provisional constitution for 2014/15 Premier Division: AFC Portchester, Alresford Town, Andover Town, Bemerton Heath Harlequins, Blackfield & Langley, Bournemouth Poppies, Brockenhurst, Christchurch, Fareham Town, Fawley AFC, Folland Sports, Hamworthy Utd, Horndean, Lymington Town, Moneyfields, Newport IoW, Petersfield Town, Totton & Eling, Verwood Town, Whitchurch Utd, Winchester City.

Division One: Amesbury Town, Andover New Street, Cowes Sports, Downton, East Cowes Vics, Fleet Spurs, Hayling Utd, Hythe & Dibden, Laverstock & Ford, New Milton Town, Pewsey Vale, Ringwood Town, Romsey Town, Tadley Calleva, Team Solent, US Portsmouth.