Saints will be seeded in pot three for Friday's Europa League group draw after the final line-up was completed.

The draw takes place at midday in Monaco.

Claude Puel's men will be drawn in a group of four and will play each side home and away with the group winners and runners-up progressing to the knockout stages.

Pot one contains some glamorous potential opponents such as Inter Milan and Ajax, but also the possibility of a long trip to Russia to face Zenit St Petersburg.

Pot four contains minnows such as Irish side Dundalk and Qarabag from Azerbaijan, one of the furthest destinations Saints could have to go to along with Israel.

Pot 1

Schalke, Zenit St Petersburg, Manchester United, Shakhtar Donetsk, Athletic Bilbao, Olympiakos, Villarreal, Ajax, Inter Milan, Fiorentina, Anderlecht, Viktoria Plzen 

Pot 2

AZ Alkmaar, Braga, Salzburg, AS Roma, Fenerbahce, Sparta Prague, PAOK, Steaua Bucharest, Genk, APOEL, Standard Liege, St Etienne 

Pot 3

Gent, Young Boys, Krasnodar, Rapid Vienna, Slovan Liberec, Celta Vigo, Maccabi Tel-Aviv, Feyenoord, Austria Vienna, Mainz, FC Zurich, Southampton

Pot 4

Panathinaikos, Sassuolo, FK Qarabag, FK Astana, Nice, Zorya Luhansk, Astra Giurgiu, Konyaspor, Osmanlispor, FK Qabala, Hapoel Beer-Sheva, Dundalk

Draw procedure

The 48 entrants are split into four seeding pots based on their club coefficients, with each of the 12 groups containing one team from each tier.

The 22 play-off winners, the ten losing teams from the UEFA Champions League play-offs and the 16 sides entering at this stage make up the 48 clubs that go into the group stage draw at the Grimaldi Forum.

No team can play a club from their own association with the exact draw procedure confirmed before the ceremony.

Matches will be held on 15 and 29 September, 20 October, 3 and 24 November, and 8 December.