Jos Buttler has made a surprise return to England's Test squad at the expense of Hampshire captain James Vince.

England's new national selector Ed Smith announced a 12-man squad on Tuesday to face Pakistan at Lord's next week, in which there is no place for Vince but opener Mark Stoneman hangs on to his position and there is also a potential debut for Somerset off-spinner Dom Bess.

Vince's match-saving, unbeaten double-century for Hampshire on the eve of the selection meeting seemed sure to keep him in the frame - but Smith has instead been persuaded by Buttler's wonderful run of form at the Indian Premier League.

Buttler, who played the last of his previous 18 Tests in December 2016 but is an inked-in white-ball player for his country, will be back as a specialist batsman - with Jonny Bairstow retaining the wicketkeeping gloves.

Smith said: "Jos Buttler is an outstanding talent, who is already a central part of England's white-ball teams.

"The selection panel feels that this is the perfect moment to reintroduce Jos to Test cricket, where he has already enjoyed some success, including a stint playing as a specialist batsman at number seven.

"Jos is playing with great confidence and flair, and he will bring unique qualities to the Test team."

Twenty-year-old Bess, whose opportunity comes after his Somerset team-mate Jack Leach broke his thumb in the nets on Monday, has made just 16 first-class appearances to date.

Smith added: "Dom Bess has made an excellent start to his first-class career.

"He has impressed everyone with his performances for Somerset and when he has been given opportunities with England representative teams.

"With Jack Leach missing out due to injury, the selection panel wanted to invest opportunity in a young spin bowler. Dom's strong form, character and all-round abilities presented a compelling case for selection."

England Test squad v Pakistan at Lord's, May 24: Joe Root (captain), Alastair Cook, Mark Stoneman, Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow (wkt), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Dom Bess, Mark Wood, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Chris Woakes.