SAINTS will not receive a bye through the first round of the Johnstone's Paint Trophy, despite being the defending champions.

Alan Pardew's men went straight through to the second round last year, but will have to begin their bid for back-to-back titles a stage earlier.

The first round draw, which is split into four sections, will take place on Saturday, August 14.

Saints are in the southern section (west), along with Cherries, Aldershot, Exeter, Oxford, Swindon, Torquay and Yeovil.

Ties will be played in the week beginning August 30.

Saints won the JPT last season with a thumping 4-1 win over Carlisle at Wembley.

Full first-round draw details...

Northern section - West

Accrington Stanley, Macclesfield, Morecambe, Oldham, Port Vale, Rochdale, Shrewsbury, Tranmere.

Northern section - East

Chesterfield, Hartlepool, Lincoln, Northampton, Notts County, Rotherham, Sheffield Wednesday, Walsall.

Southern section - West

Bournemouth, Aldershot, Exeter, Oxford, Saints, Swindon, Torquay, Yeovil.

Southern section - East

Brentford, Brighton, Charlton, Dagenham & Redbridge, Gillingham, Leyton Orient, Southend, Stevenage.


Northern section: Bradford, Burton, Bury, Carlisle, Crewe, Huddersfield, Peterborough, Stockport.

Southern section: Barnet, Bristol Rovers, Cheltenham, Colchester, Hereford, MK Dons, Plymouth, Wycombe.