SHANE Warne will join other sporting legends in Barcelona next week for the eighth Laureus World Sports awards.

The Hampshire Cricket skipper is missing the county's pre-season trip to Cape Town so he can attend the glamour event in Spain next Monday.

There he will rub shoulders with the likes of Sebastian Coe, Ed Moses, Johan Cruyff, Boris Becker, Franz Beckenbauer, Bobby Charlton, Franz Klammer and Mark Spitz.

Warne is one of only two cricketers attending the function, which will see global figures from sport, entertainment and fashion mix. The other is his former Test skipper Steve Waugh.

Also present will be Oscar-winning actor Morgan Freeman and popular stars Eva Longoria and Kyle MacLachlan from US TV show Desperate Housewives.

Argentinian super model Valeria Mazza and Spanish flamenco dancer Joaquin Cortes will also be present.

The Laureus World Sports Awards, which is broadcast to 190 countries and territories, is the premier global sports awards honouring the greatest sportsmen and women across all sports each year.

The nominees for the 2007 Laureus World Sports Awards are: Laureus World Sportsman of the Year: Fernando Alonso (Spain, Motor Racing), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy, Football), Roger Federer (Switzerland, Tennis), Asafa Powell (Jamaica, Athletics), Michael Schumacher (Germany, Motor Racing), Tiger Woods (US, Golf).

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year Justine Henin (Belgium, Tennis), Yelena Isinbayeva (Russia, Athletics), Carolina Kluft (Sweden, Athletics), Laure Manaudou (France, Swimming), Amélie Mauresmo (France, Tennis), Maria Sharapova (Russia, Tennis).

Laureus World Team of the Year All Blacks (New Zealand, Rugby), FC Barcelona (Spain, Football), European Ryder Cup Team (Golf), Italian Men's Football Team, Renault (France, Motor Racing), Spanish Basketball Team.

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Xavier Carter (US, Athletics), Ghanaian Men's Football Team, Lewis Hamilton (UK, Motor Racing), Amélie Mauresmo (France, Tennis), Britta Steffen (Germany, Swimming), Ma Xiaoxu (China, Football).

Laureus World Comeback of the Year Drew Brees (US, American Football), Ben Curtis (US, Golf), Roy Jones Jr (US, Boxing), Miami Heat (US, Basketball), Serena Williams (US, Tennis), Zinedine Zidane (France, Football).

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: Martin Braxenthaler (Germany, Mono-skiing), Kurt Fearnley (Australia, Wheelchair Racing), Edith Hunkeler (Switzerland, Wheelchair Racing), Javier Otxoa (Spain, Cycling), Kazem Rajabi Golojeh (Iran, Powerlifting), Esther Vergeer (Netherlands, Wheelchair Tennis).

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year Aaron Hadlow (UK, Kiteboarding), Travis Pastrana (US, Moto-Cross), Kevin Pritchard (US, Windsurfing), Gisela Pulido (Spain, Kiteboarding), Kelly Slater (US, Surfing), Hannah Teter (US, Snowboarding), Shaun White (US, Snowboarding.Skateboarding).