TOP Hampshire sailors Ian Walker and Ian Williams will have another crack at being crowned yachtsman of the year after they were both shortlisted by the Yachting Journalists' Association.

Walker and Williams had been in the running for the same title at a prestigious awards ceremony organised by the International Sailing Federation but were pipped by Kiwi dinghy duo Pete Burling and Blair Tuke.

However Volvo Ocean Race winner Walker, and five-time world match racing champion Williams, will get a second shot at the crown.

They were shortlisted alongside Olympic hopeful Giles Scott by a panel of the country's top marine journalists.

Katie Jackson, from sponsors, said: “The shortlist of nominees for the UK’s top sailing award, the YJA Yachtsman of the Year Award, is always very strong.

"This year the list highlights some exceptional achievements, and it’s going to be tough for the members of the YJA to choose a winner.

"We’re already looking forward to learning who the winners are at the ceremony in January.”

The award will be presented at a gala ceremony in London on January 12.