Former Hampshire batsman George Bailey has been named Australia's ODI player of the year at a glittering ceremony in Sydney.

Bailey, who began the last county season at Hampshire, may have been dumped from Australia's Test squad to tour South Africa next month.

But he has been recognised for his outstanding ODI form in 2013, especially India, where he scored 478 runs at 95.6 in leading Australia to a series win.

Opener Aaron Finch - who blasted a world record 156 against England at the Ageas Bowl in August - was named Twenty20 player of the year.

Australia's Player of the Year prize went to Ashes man of the series Mitchell Johnson.

The left-arm quick was awarded his first Allan Border Medal on Monday after pipping skipper Michael Clarke for the top individual honour in Australian cricket.

Johnson was Australia's hero as they regained the Ashes with a 5-0 sweep, taking 37 wickets in the series and 65 at an average of just over 20 in all formats in the past 12 months.

Those performances were enough to see him leapfrog Clarke in the voted award, as the skipper chased a third successive title.

Johnson polled 168 votes - 12 more than Clarke - for a medal that is decided across all three formats on the international stage.

Johnson's win comes despite him missing Australia's 3-0 Ashes defeat in the summer and playing just six of 14 Tests during the voting period. All-rounder James Faulkner was third.

Former Hampshire star Clarke was named Test player of the year.