Report this comment
  • "It's such a shame!"
  • This field is mandatory
  • This field is mandatory
  • Please note we will not accept reports with HTML tags or URLs in them.

  • Enter the above word in the box below

Lambert wins Player of the Year

First published in Saints News

RICKIE Lambert has tonight been voted the npower Championship’s Player of the Year.

Saints’ top scorer was selected ahead of colleague Adam Lallana and Cardiff City’s Pete Whittingham at a dinner at The Brewery in London.

Lambert has bagged a remarkable 21 league goals this season in his first ever campaign as a Championship footballer.

Included in that haul are hattricks against Nottingham Forest, Brighton and Watford.

Swindon’s ex-Pompey midfielder Matt Ritchie was voted League 2 player of the year while Huddersfield goal machine Jordan Rhodes was unsurprisingly chosen as the winner of the League 1 award.

Pompey won the Tokio Marine Family Club of the Year prize, while Brighton’s Gus Poyet took the silverware in the Outstanding Managerial Achievement section.

Burnley’s programme was voted best programme in the Football League while Crystal Palace’s Wilfreid Zaha was voted Young Player of the Year

Comments (45)

Please log in to enable comment sorting

Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree